Questions about local server hosting

So I went over this guide: https://docs.veniceunleashed.net/hosting/setup-win/ and I am stuck at the :
“GUI mode is the default operating mode for the VU server, and will create a new window with server output and other useful information. To start the server in GUI mode you need to run the VU executable ( vu.exe , present in the VU installation directory) with some specific launch arguments:”
How do I set vu.exe launch argments?
If I set those arguments to launch a server through that exe,would I be able to than launch the game from the same vu.exe and join the server I just hosted?
Is there a video showing how to set up your local server?(not a rented server,a localy hosted one)

I am sorry if these are silly questions,but this is my first time trying to host a bf3 server and the writen guide was a bit confusing.

Not sure if it is currently possible to set up a server and play BF3 to join said server from the same PC.

The guide you’re refering gives you instructions on how to set up the server on a separate PC, not the one you’re playing from, and although I wouldn’t be surprised that you can work your way around this (e.g. running a virtual PC to host the server or similar) it will by no means be easy to do, and definitely not as a first time project.

However if you happen to have an old laptop or PC, then you can set up the server on one machine and join it from the other.

“Not sure if it is currently possible to set up a server and play BF3 to join said server from the same PC.”
Actually I was just able to do that.
I ll try to write a short guide on how to host your local server and join it,here’s what I did:
I followed the “set up your first instance” 6 step tutorial from this page: https://forums.veniceunleashed.net/viewtopic.php?t=8214
Important things to point out here is that in my experience,you HAVE to create an instance folder at EXACTLY this path: “C:\Servers\VU_Instances\VU_Sample_Instance”